AAHOF nominees to be inducted at gala dinner this weekend…

November 15th, 2019 Comments Off on AAHOF nominees to be inducted at gala dinner this weekend…

The 2019 Australian Aviation Hall of Fame (AAHOF) Gala Induction Dinner is to be held Saturday 16 November at the Australian War Memorial, Canberra ACT.

Talking about the evening Steve Padgett OAM, AAHOF Chairman said, “2019 is the 100th anniversary of the London to Darwin Air Race and the 100th anniversary of the establishment of Sydney Airport. 2019 is also significant in the lead up to the 100th anniversary of the RAAF. These are major events in Australia’s aviation history that bring to light the significant achievements and contributions of our inductees for this year.”

Three individuals and one organisation will be inducted into the Aviation Hall of Fame.

• Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) – Honoured with the Southern Cross Award (for an organisation) recognising the critical front-line defence of our nation and, in the formation and encouragement of the growth of Australian Civil aviation. Also, for outstanding work and essential support in disaster relief and rescue missions.

• James Bennett and Walter Shiers – Australian Flying Corp (AFC) aircraft mechanics whose outstanding technical abilities and determination enabled the completion of the first England to Australia flight in 1919, piloted by Ross and Keith Smith. Ross Smith acknowledged publicly that the flight would never have been completed without the efforts of these two men.

• Nigel Love – A pilot with the Australian Flying Corp (AFC). Returning to Sydney in 1919, and with great foresight he located and secured a lease on an empty grazing paddock at Mascot, and there established Australia’s first civil flying school and aircraft sales/maintenance business. The lease was taken over by the Commonwealth in 1923 and Nigel Love’s aerodrome became Sydney Airport.

Anzac Hall, the magnificent historic aviation showcase, which is part of the Australian War Memorial, will be the setting for the dinner, staged around the famous “G for George” Lancaster Bomber. Commenting on the choice of location Steve Padgett went on to say, “It seems fitting that those being recognised this year are inducted in this very special place, the Australian War Memorial in Canberra, our nation’s capital”.

SHAREShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someone