AAHOF announces 2020 hall of fame inductees…

June 19th, 2020 Comments Off on AAHOF announces 2020 hall of fame inductees…

The Australian Aviation Hall of Fame Board has announced this year’s inductees to the Australian Aviation Hall of fame, recognising their significant contribution to Aviation and the Aviation industry in Australia.

In making the announcement AAHOF Chairman, Steve Padgett OAM, said: “This year has had its special challenges for the aviation industry and has highlighted the quality of the very special inductees and organisations that have been in the forefront of the fight against the fires that decimated parts of Australia during the 2019-20 Australian bush fire season. The part that women have played in the history of aviation in Australia is also something we should all be very proud of, and it is recognised in this year’s awards.”

The Inductees for 2020 are:

• Captain Deborah Jane Lawrie AM – Captain Lawrie has been involved with aviation for over 50 years, commencing her flying training at age of 16 and becoming the first female airline pilot for a major airline in Australia. She is regarded as a trailblazer and Standard Bearer by all those women who have followed her lead.

• Basil South Brown – Basil Brown was a co-founder of East West Airlines and was the inaugural President of AAAA in 1958. He established Airfarm Associates in NSW in 1953 and was in the forefront of the Australian Ag Flying industry for decades to come.

• John Weymouth is a national pioneer in using helicopters for commercial and emergency purposes. These include firefighting, search and rescue, mustering, training, infrastructure inspection to name just a few. Due in part to John’s extensive vision for the helicopter, Australia now operates the world’s second largest fleet of civil helicopters.

This year the Board has also chosen to recognise the significant contribution to the firefighting effort during the recent devastating bush fires made by the Australian Helicopter Industry Association (AHIA) and the Australian Aerial Application Association (AAAA). The Associations will jointly share the Southern Cross Award.

The induction ceremony will be held on Saturday, 14th November, 2020 at the Historical Aircraft Restoration Society (HARS) at Illawarra Regional Airport, Albion Park, New South Wales. Further information on booking for the event and timing due to possible restrictions in place will be available through the AAHOF website at www.aahof.com.au

SHAREShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail to someone